2016, A Year of Losses

December 31, 2016

This may be one of the shortest resolutions posts, and that’s because in a lot of ways 2016 needs no explanation. It has been a pretty toxic year both here in the States and elsewhere, and we have lost people (both personally and otherwise) that make it all much more difficult. For many, the end of 2016 can be summed up in two words: good riddance. 

However it was not without its good things, and as we march forward into a very uncertain new year, it is important to reflect. Here were my resolutions for 2016:

1. Enjoy the last year of my twenties. I think I have done about as much of this as possible, and we capitalized on our summer being open. Seeing the baseball hall of fame and going to see Griffey retire his number at Safeco Field were definitely high points. 

2. Try to eat a little better/work out a little more. Such a simple goal, and yet it winds up being one of the hardest. After Christine’s car accident in April, I no longer had a workout buddy, and it makes it harder to keep motivated. Instead of repeating this one again, I think I will make it a default concern. 

3. Don’t be afraid to branch out (school-wise). This was a tough one for me because my second year of teaching was such a challenge. I am still open to suggestion, but a major change of attitude in my building’s admin team have me thinking I might stick around a while longer. Still want to work on that Masters degree though!

4. Continue to write poetry (and think about prose). As you can tell, I did indeed keep writing but as I look forward to turning thirty (three weeks away now) I hope that this slowdown in frequency of poems just means the quality will get better and better. I did finish my zodiac series of poems, and I’m proud that I managed to cap that off. I like them, and that doesn’t always happen with my work.

5. Get married. While it hasn’t happened yet, the engagement was bound to be a long one. You wait six years to get engaged, it doesn’t seem so bad to wait two more to get married. The plan is to finally tie the knot in a small ceremony in July 2017. 🙂

 
Now that we have that done, I can think about the resolutions I have for the new year… And some of them may surprise you. 

 
1. Get published again, preferably in print. I have been published online, but it is such an industry that just getting your work out there can seem insurmountable. I want to see my name on paper, damn it.

2. Get more involved politically. With the environment in crisis and the rights of others in the balance, it has never been more important to stand up for what I believe in. I can’t just sit there and let it happen. 

3. Start a Masters program (or at least get accepted). In the next year, I want to really actually get the ball rolling on this. It will help me financially in the long run but also I miss reading for class. (Sad, I know)

4. Spend more time with the people that I love. This includes family and the family who aren’t related. Getting so sucked into work can mean I might miss out on being with the people in my life who matter. 

5. Take more interest in my health. I’m going to be thirty, and despite Fitzgerald calling it a decade of loneliness, I want to make sure I can keep myself healthy enough to get through my thirties unscathed… even if that means going to the dentist. Ugh. 

 
That’s about it, folks. My focus has never changed, but the people around me have. 2016 has been a pretty weird year, and I’m glad to put it in the rearview. But I want all of you who put up with me to know that I love you and I hope we get to hang out in person again soon. Have a happy and safe New Year’s and I’ll see you on the other side. 

MSBQ

Leave a Reply

