2015, The Year of Fulfillment

December 31, 2015

What an incredible thing this year has been. As the world around us changes (and not always for the better), it’s important to remember that the most important things in our lives are the people we hold close. I learned a lot this year- about what not to do in a classroom, about what inspires me, and how sometimes blood isn’t always thicker than water. By fulfilment, I mean that 2015 was the year where things in my life are finally starting to take hold, put down roots, all that jazz. I got engaged, we’ve travelled together, and are more stable (in multiple ways) than ever before. And that’s important to acknowledge.

I hope that if you are reading this, that you feel as touched by me as I am by you. My priorities have changed a lot in the last twelve months. But my family and friends and the love of my life will always be number one. (If it seems like I forget that in 2016, please remind me)

Let’s take a look at how well I did accomplishing my resolutions for this year:

  1. Become a part of (or start my own!) book club.
    While I didn’t start a book club, I’ve become part of one between some of the other English teachers in my department (among others) who want to learn and discuss our methods. Sounds boring, but it usually involves alcohol as well.
  2. Renew old friendships.
    I feel like I can’t really scratch this one off, but maybe you’ll disagree. The wonderful power of the internet is its ability to bring together people who don’t live near other physically. While some of my best friends in the entire world live 50, 75, or 2000 miles away (HI ALEXA), it doesn’t mean that our bonds have gotten any weaker. In fact, I’d say for most of them I feel closer than ever. It’s important to renew old friendships, but I can’t help but remember the new friends I’ve made as well.
  3. Survive my first year as a teacher.
    I definitely made it. Was I successful? That’s another story entirely. I made it through my first year teaching and all that that encompasses, and I am proud of that. My second year, somehow, seems even more stressful than the first but all along I am more confident than I was. It makes a difference. Here’s to 49 more years in the profession!
  4. See some more cool stuff.
    I am happy to say that I definitely checked this one off. We made more than a few road trips around Washington this year, but the clear highlight travel-wise for me in 2015 was visiting Boston. I’ve always dreamt about visiting Boston and this summer we got to go there… It was amazing! Such an incredible mixture of the old and the new, seeing the roots of our country and where it all began, and eating the most delicious Italian food in the entire world. Yeah, it was good.
  5. Keep writing!
    According to WordPress, I wrote 19 poems this year to reach a blog total of 200 posts! While that sounds impressive, I didn’t really keep up with my unwritten goal of two new poems per month. I’d like to continue forward, and as I finally settle into my own unique writing style I’d love it if you came along for the ride. Hearing other people appreciate my work has been an unexpected pleasure. Don’t stop doing it, please.

 

There are so many people I’d like to sit down and talk to, some folks I haven’t seen face to face in a long time. Hopefully, this year will be one to remember, and that will include seeing you! I can’t thank the people around me enough for supporting me, being willing to buy me a drink every once in a while, and listen to me complain about my students. 🙂

Here’s the skinny on my resolutions for 2016:

  1. Enjoy the last year of my twenties.
    Yikes! The next resolutions post I write will be 2+ weeks away from turning 30, and that’s somewhat terrifying. Help me enjoy 29 as much as I can!
  2. Try to eat a little better/work out a little more.
    Recently, I’ve felt somewhat unhappy with the way I look. I mean, I’ve always been a little chubby but I want to make sure I’m taking care of myself, too. No, I’m not joining a gym.
  3. Don’t be afraid to branch out (school-wise).
    Don’t panic. This means multiple things to me: a) always keep looking for better employment, b) always be open to moving up in the degree world, e.g. getting a Master’s. Stay open-minded!
  4. Continue to write poetry (and think about prose).
    Part of this could be a tough one for me, mostly because I’ve always thought I wouldn’t have the creative juices necessary for writing a longer piece… Who knows?
  5. Get married.
    We’re already engaged, but it would be cool to finally tie the knot next year. Despite being teachers, we don’t really plan all that well sometimes. This can be fixed. 🙂

 

Well, that’s it. My resolutions for 2016 are actually kind of difficult. Help me achieve them! I hope that you have a safe and wonderful New Year’s Eve and a pleasant weekend. Don’t be a stranger.

MSBQ

 

Leave a Reply

