Precedence

April 25, 2015

I do not remember why,
But I have always been
Rather heavy of feet.
Even as a boy, I spent as
Little energy in lateral
Movement as I could.

My mother tells me that,
Despite my January birth,
I was a warm but fragile
Boon upon the world.
I, being an impatient calf,
Decided I was not fit to
Be a Pisces, and March
Was simply too late to
Celebrate my birthday.

Sometimes I think back
To my earlier years, full of
Sun and cinnamon sugar,
And wonder who will tell
The tale of my beginnings
Once my end has finally
Come to pass.

MSBQ

Leave a Reply

