Unfinished

March 2, 2015

We met, alone, again.
You wore your hair up,
With a white sweatshirt
And a scarf around you.
I remembered, suddenly,
Just how much I missed
Your eyes in particular.
It had been more than
Ten long years since you
And I had seen each other,
But it felt like even longer.

It’s difficult, really, to
Describe the feeling of
Having so much to say
And yet to be unable to
Speak. The air itself is
Pregnant with emotions
I cannot speak into life.

Suddenly, a change:
Your eyes widen in fear,
And you stand to leave.
You won’t say why, but
I know you cannot stay.
In the blink of my eyes
And a flutter of wings,
You became a bird
And took to the warm
Sea air, never to return.

MSBQ

Leave a Reply

