The Companion

February 9, 2015

She was unexpected, but
Looking back I should
Have known better.
When only I could see
Her smile, her freckles,
I ought to have known
That some people are
Real, and some people…
Are something else.

When she followed me
To school, I thought it’d
Be fun to have a friend
Along for recess. But,
To my surprise, no one
Else could see her; she
Existed in the one place
She would be truly safe:
Inside of my mind.

Only once have I seen
Her since that afternoon-
She came to me one night
Like a ghost, ethereal,
And told me she still
Wandered behind me
Pondering whether or
Not to show herself.
I told her she could go
But she decided to stay.

MSBQ

Leave a Reply

