Submerged

June 23, 2014

I feel like Plath’s
Ponderous house;
Not with child, but
Because as you
Wander through me,
I can feel weight shift
Across my floorboards,
Groaning with effort
To forget as you go
From one empty
Room to another.

Dust settles silently,
Tearing the curtain
That kept you at bay.

Despite your best
Efforts, I am here
Still making my own
Decisions, having
Dropped anchor on
Too short a line,
Letting the sea fill
My lungs until they
Burn and I am fully
Submerged.

Vacant and occupied:
Somehow I am both
All at once.

MSBQ

One Response to “Submerged”

  1. Mike Says:

    A string of metaphor enhances this beautiful work. Nice piece.


Leave a Reply

