2013, The Year of Promise

January 1, 2014

Hey there! This is, yet again, my one time for looking back at the year as a whole and setting some goals for the next one. Firstly, as usual, I want to thank the people in my life who have been there through thick and thin, and who continue to be there for me when I screw up. My family has been extraordinary this year in lending a hand when I am up against a wall, whether that be financially or literally. My friends have been better than ever, despite many of you living far away. I love you guys, and I don’t mean that in any kind of way beside the raw appreciation of someone who would not be where they are now without your help. My incredible, understanding, and amazing girlfriend… You go above and beyond for me all the time, and this year really showed me how important two people can be to each other. I love you.

As with all times of transition, things are lost and things are gained. This year was not without its pitfalls, both those endured directly and those indirectly. I know some of you may read this, even though we have not spoken in a while… And maybe we won’t for a while yet. I also met a lot of new folks this year, and got closer to people I hardly knew, and that is rewarding in its own way. I just hope that 2014 becomes a time where all of us may blossom into the human beings we are meant to become. Fulfill your potential this year, do yourself a favor. You won’t be disappointed.

Let’s take a look back at the resolutions I made for 2013:

1. Rewatch the television show LOST.
Thanks to a chunk of my time being largely empty this past summer, I did manage to watch almost all of this amazing show again. It’s more than just a story to me, and I know only some of you will appreciate that. And that’s okay. I’m just glad I did it.

2. Get a teaching job. For real this time.
I think I can count this one as accomplished. Starting in March 2013, I started in the Bethel School District as a substitute, and it has been so rewarding. I am doing pretty much what I have always wanted to be doing, just not in my own classroom. One day that too will become a reality, but in the meantime I am truly having a blast.

3. Continue saving money and become more financially responsible.
Saving money and trying to improve my credit and everything has been an uphill climb, but one that I have been making nevertheless. Hopefully I will only continue on this route.

4. Visit a national landmark that I’ve never been to before.
I almost thought that I would miss out on this one, but over Thanksgiving, my Mom and family went to Las Vegas (no, that’s not the landmark). One of our jam-packed days on the strip, we took time to drive out to Red Rock Canyon, and it was breathtaking. I love surrounding myself in nature, and that afternoon was really an awesome experience. Oh, and we got to have In ‘N’ Out burgers, so that was nice too!

5. Become a better human being.
Looking back, this is so subjective that I can only hope I have done it justice. I have made some mistakes this year, but to err to be human. One day, I want to get to the place in my life where I can really embrace my mistakes, and learn from them. Those two things are harder to accomplish together than it sounds. Hopefully, I have done right by you this year. If I haven’t, well, give me a chance. 2014 is a new year.

Whew. I’m glad I had the forethought to limit myself to five resolutions instead of ten. I think it will help me to focus on getting them done. I’d call 2013 a success, at least for me. Now for the hard part: figuring out what goals to set for myself in the new year. What kinds of things will I aim for in 2014?

1. Focus on financial responsibility and independence.
I’m about to turn 27, I should definitely be pretty good at this by now. I’ll be doing my best to improve my credit, keep saving money, and think about my future.

2. Read at least a dozen books.
This resolution should be pretty easy to accomplish… Just looking at my history on GoodReads has shown me that I am capable of reading at or above the level I was reading in college. And I’m thankful for that. Let’s keep it up. Also: more non-fiction!

3. Donate to charity again.
I used to donate for a short time to an organization for aid in Africa, but to be honest my donation could be anything. I could spend time working with an organization for the homeless or donate to another worthy cause, or both. I want to do my best to help my fellow man (and woman!) in need.

4. Keep writing.
This one has become a little more difficult, and at times it was tough to meet my (self-imposed) bare minimum of a new poem every month. The last couple months have been so busy that I haven’t taken time to reflect. Those of you who frequent this blog know what that time means to me.

5. Get outside my comfort zone.
I think this one really fleshed itself out on that trip to Vegas. I am often not a risk-taker. It’s just not in my blood. So when confronted with a tough situation, my usual response is to retreat into myself and work things out on my own terms. This year, I want to get out there a little more, and do things I may not always be comfortable with. (Within reason)

There it is. 2014 should prove to be quite interesting. I have called it a year of promise, but really the potential lies within us, within me, to make this year better than ever. I just hope we all make it through to another resolutions post. Until then, keep coming back to read my work, and don’t be afraid to say hello… I won’t bite! 🙂

MSBQ

Leave a Reply

