Oolong

June 6, 2013

From a well-tended
Field to your
well-meaning hands,
I have one request:
Flatten me, but
Don’t roll me out.
Bring a kettle of
Cold, clear water
To barely a boil,
And lay me out in
A chipped teacup.
Very carefully,
Pour out the
Purified water
Over the leaves
Of my body.
When I have left
My essence inside,
Steeped out in a
Cloud of vapor,
Remove me and
Enjoy your labor.

And there, at the
End, you may read
My words like the
Dregs at the
Bottom of a cup.

MSBQ

Leave a Reply

