Effigies

March 15, 2012

There might not be
Anything quite like
The crimes we will see
Let it fill you with fright
Of how free you can be
‘Cause now they’ll light
The coming of an effigy

In the south of the square
Come burn me in effigy
Let flames and smoke tear
Through the likeness of me
Purge what was there
For the village to see
Because nothing compares
To the daily routine

The north wind blows
Ash from my effigy
Men’s hearts are closed
To the lightness I see
Like a river, it flows
Out into the sea
All since you chose
To look down on me

MSBQ

3 Responses to “Effigies”


  1. wow. I’m not sure I understand the first stanza but I feel like this is an eerie poem!


  2. Someone is on a pedestal lol Nice job

  3. Michael Says:

    It’s not about me, silly 🙂


Leave a Reply

