Wintry Home Blues

January 22, 2012

It’s a brand new year, friend,
And so you might be thinking
Why’s that man’s happiness at an end?
The weather has got him drinking

It ain’t one thing more than I found
When the sky’s like a big grey bruise
Mother Nature’s blanket thrown down
I got the wintry home blues

Snow has come in to stay
More than a foot they been saying
I’m stuck in a world of white and grey
Just some sunshine, I’ve been praying

It ain’t one thing more than I found
Wishin’ it was up to me to choose
Mother Nature’s blanket thrown down
I got the wintry home blues

The only thing that’s got me to smile
Is thinking ‘bout my girl, sweet thing
Sure ‘nough being gone is her trial
Wishing she was here to hear me sing

It ain’t one thing more than I found
Finding I’ve got nothing left to lose
Mother Nature’s blanket thrown down
Singing my wintry home blues

MSBQ

Leave a Reply

