Magic Kingdom

June 9, 2010

That distinctive smell
A pleasant blend of commerce
And pure imagination
One square mile of orange grove
Was the price to pay
For the happiest place on earth;
Where time clung
Desperately in heavy clusters
Yesterday and tomorrow
Each have their own territory
Where else could you
Go from the wild west to the
Streets of New Orleans
By simply walking?

This was my home,
My little America
Each new land held
Infinite possibilities
It’s the magic kingdom
And I was its prince
Looking back, I see now
The price I paid for
Admission
A golden childhood
In exchange for what
I wouldn’t miss until I
Didn’t know it was gone
I knew every ride
Like a lover
Each land conquered
By my ten year old mind

For now, I’ll hop off the
Rusty rails of memory
And recall, fondly,
The Mickey ears stitched
With my name
When you’re a child,
Those gates opened to a
Place where everything
In the world was right,
An ideal country of
Happiness

MSBQ

2 Responses to “Magic Kingdom”


  1. “where time clung
    desperately in heavy clusters
    yesterday and tomorrow
    each have their own territory”

    Your choice of words for expression are admirable and mystical in the beauty of your magical kingdom.

  2. slpmartin Says:

    The Magic Kingdom seems to have influenced generations of dreamers…seems like some of the magic has worn off as we progress into the real world…you provide such wonderful imagery..like “the rusty rails”..a fine poem to read.


Leave a Reply

