Daybreak

June 16, 2009

My relief was taking my sandals off
And letting the grass caress my soles.
Summer’s recent spotlight of heat had
Turned the front lawn into a crunchy field
The color of cinnamon sugar.

My small escape served to remind me
Of the things I have to hold onto;
When I find myself at tomorrow’s doorstep
And returning to the bed I left last year,
Bringing a sense of solace and solitude.
Both halves of my heart taking
An extended leave of absence,
I have no choice but to recall
The way the seasons change us.
Although my Company might go off
On their own solstice adventures,
When the autumn comes to remove
Nature’s sunburned outer layers
It brings with it a renewed anticipation
And the harvest of friends new and old.

A turn in the wind’s trajectory
And somehow I can taste the blue
Strokes of light blending seamlessly
Through the west wind’s fingers,
Taking what little dread I have left
Away from myself so that once
I wake up from the warm sleep
My first glance to the horizon
Makes me smile a tiny grin.

A frayed rope hangs silently below
The archway, as the last thing I see
Is the back side of white sails
And ash grey skies.

MSBQ

2 Responses to “Daybreak”

  1. bloowalrus Says:

    I like this piece a lot! It gives me a nice image in my head.In fact,I think i’m going to paint a picture based on this poem.

  2. Michael Says:

    wow! let me know how it goes. 🙂


Leave a Reply

