Love Potion #9

December 24, 2008

a quick science experiment:
take two bunny rabbits, one male one female
put them in a cage for five minutes and
observe their ancient dance

shouldn’t the same apply to a couple
of human beings? the kind of “chemistry”
that everybody’s talking about, it must
go beyond the impulse to fuck

we are creatures of habit
and also creatures of instinct
what I wonder now is what’s this
thing called love and what’s it taste like?

my mind’s playing catch-up
with Mother Nature and
a scatter plot shows where
my heart has been, postage paid in full
some kind of Jules Verne adventure!
and now, dear reader, is epiphany

a raw, shuddering feeling that
burns through your nervous system
the electricity of human contact
this is what I question

the query rises slowly, like steam
do I know what love is? do you?
wash your face, cleanse the pallet
take a second look into the mirror

what we fight for is nothing
more than the fear of loss
we are afraid of losing the one
thing that has ever given us
what we asked for

biting our nails in the corner
we grasp with white knuckles
to that which we are afraid to lose
we, the children of Cicero

since when does anyone really
ever know what they want?
certainty is lost in translation
and down in the dregs cries
a scared little boy

MSBQ

2 Responses to “Love Potion #9”

  1. Shelby Johnson Says:

    Yous struck greatness yet again. I must say that I love the Jules Verne reference. I think this is my favorite so far πŸ™‚ I totally agree with your thoughts on the subject. Loved it!

  2. Mudha Says:

    πŸ˜€ i agree, this one is my new favorite πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

