Crossing the Delaware

October 9, 2008

originally written in June 2008

I was already soaked
When we got there
It didn’t look that bad
From our side
As I took the first
Few steps into the
Foaming cold rush
I thought it might be okay
Boy, was I wrong

The water pushed against
Me without a moment’s rest
And every step I took across
Felt like I could be
Flung downstream, never to
Walk again on dry land

As I lifted my knee
Onto the western bank
I felt a sigh of
Profound relief escape me
We had made it!
The last one of us
Crossed with the help of a rope
And we could only laugh
At the feat we had achieved

Waist high water
Had tried its best
But we four were Men
And we had conquered
The River.

MSBQ

Leave a Reply

